big rock, little man

lighthouse rock - October 20, 2013d
 

Occasionally, I’ll stop myself from interpreting a dream…

For example, I didn’t want to interpret this recent dream:

On one side of a narrow highway, I see a small white farmhouse.  A man lives here with his wife and child.

Behind the farmhouse lies a rocky coastline and the ocean.

But my attention is drawn to what dominates the scene on the other side of the road…

A stone cliff rises up—it’s a hundred feet high or more.  Atop the cliff sits a massive, well-shaped boulder.  From its lofty perspective, it looks out, towards the ocean.

That boulder has a presence all its own.  A strength.  It’s indomitable.

Though I wondered about that rock with its great profile…

…I resisted the temptation to try to interpret its meaning—I feared I might spoil the mystery.

But I guess, in a way, I did interpret it, to a degree…

I found its meaning by trying to describe it adequately.

That stone is about strength.  Endurance.  A higher perspective built on a solid foundation.

If such a thing is in my dream….

…it must be a part of me—hard as that is for me to believe.

Of course, that little man in his little house is also a part of me.  My small mundane existence still goes on, down below.

That’s all good to know; nonetheless, for the time being, I don’t plan to go any further with this dream.

However, I know the dream will stay with me—its great peaceful mystery with stay with me…

So perhaps, in a month, or a year, or even ten years from now, I may come to its deeper meanings—a deeper understanding of the whole beautiful scenario.

© 2013, Michael R. Patton
this book is open all night

About Michael Patton

I am a poet, novelist, essayist, cartoonist, graphic artist, peace miller, new mythologist, and fledgling world citizen. I grew up in Northwest Arkansas and have lived and worked all over the United States. My work career has been a patchwork quilt--beginning at age seven, when I helped my father build chain-link fence. An early fascination with the paranormal developed into an interest in metaphysics, which in turn, led to working with dreams and the use of mythological archetypes in my fiction and poetry. I'm self-taught, for the most part--which is like searching for the right door in the dark. It's an on-going process. My first novel, THE RAVEN'S WAY ("a shamanic journey through Native American myth") told a turbulent, yet comic tale of transformation. After frustrating experience with the mid-level publisher of that book, I've published on my own, beginning with e-books, with plans to move into print. I've worked for years on my craft and feel I've finally reached a level of competence. But in those years, the publishing business changed. I'm scrambling now, trying to figure out how I can best promote my work--without taking too much time away from the actual writing. I've now published six books of poetry. Each book focuses on a theme. For instance, the collection GLORIOUS TEDIOUS TRANSFORMATION is about the difficult process of change. My 2nd novel, SOULTIME is "two million years of human development condensed into a single lifetime". In this book, as with all my work, I try to be accessible to a general audience, while also striving to achieve a certain literary standard. What do I mean by "literary standard"? In part, that means giving the English language its proper value. Lacking musical ability, I try to make music with language, while also making meaning. My aim is not to tell my story, but to tell OUR story. Though I believe in the power of working with dreams, don't call me a "navel gazer" please... I don't see the inner world and outer world as separate. By learning about myself, I learn about others, I learn about my world. Likewise, as I struggle to understand what I see OUT THERE, I learn about myself. But to be clear: I don't claim any special understanding. I'm still purblind, still only half-awake. Socially, I’m a very personable introverta quiet person who can talk for hours. I love the city, I love the country. Like most people, I'm a maze of contradictions. Yeah, I'm a dove, but to borrow a phrase from Johnny Cash, "A dove with claws." I have my head in the clouds and my feet on the groundat least, I TRY to keep them there. I describe myself as many do these days: spiritual, but not religious. However, I believe everyone is spiritual, because everyone has a spirit.
This entry was posted in dreaming, dreams, Jung, Michael Patton, photos, psychology, self-help, symbolism, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

