a rose not so sweet is still a rose

bee rose bbbb - April 24, 2016s

As sometimes happens, the message of one dream seems to contradict the message of another …

In a recent dream…

I’m looking for a special item in a large ultra-modern mall.  A place of few stores and few people.

The main room is spacious, with an extremely high ceiling.

I peek into a restaurant that’s open at two ends to a wide ocean bay.  Then I pass by a coffee store.

I know I can’t find what I want in this building, so I don’t care to linger.

In a dream from last month, I was also searching for a part for a creative project (see previous entry)…

But in that dream, I showed patience.  In this latest dream, I’m anxious to hurry on.

Having worked for years to develop my patience, I welcomed the positive message of the first dream.  Yes, I’d made progress!

Or had I?  After the second dream, I wasn’t so sure…

The messages seemed to be in opposition…until I realized that the two situations weren’t quite the same.

Yes, I’m being patience in the first dream—but with good reason.  Intuitively, I know I can find what I want where I am.

In the second dream, I know I can’t find what I want in that mall.  So why not keep going?

At this point, I’m reminded of what a wise man (or woman) once said: take time to stop and smell the roses.

Okay, but that vacant, ultra-modern mall doesn’t really intrigue me.  Yes, the building has the high-vaulted spaciousness of a cathedral.  But it lacks a strong sense of spirituality.

On the other hand, the emptiness does create a feeling of mystery.

And then there’s that restaurant.  I could sit down at the water’s edge, enjoy a cup of coffee, and reflect.

I guess stopping to smell the roses also means stopping when and where the roses aren’t so sweet.  They may not smell so sweet, but they’re still roses.

In the dream, I’m frustrated because I can’t find what I want.  But experience has taught me: if I don’t stop, if I keep going from place to place, searching, searching, I’ll only increase my frustration.

It was a hard lesson.  Trouble is, I still occasionally forget.  Fortunately, I have this dream to remind me.

© 2016, Michael R. Patton
sky rope poetry

About Michael Patton

I am a poet, novelist, essayist, cartoonist, graphic artist, peace miller, new mythologist, and fledgling world citizen.... I grew up in Northwest Arkansas and have lived and worked all over the United States.... I'm self-taught, for the most part--which is like searching for the right door in the dark. It's an on-going process.... I don't want to write MY story, I want OUR story, so that's what I'm studying: the human story: past, present, future, in its many aspects--including the spiritual. I'm proceeding at a slow crawl.... I don't see the inner world and outer world as separate. By learning about myself, I learn about others, I learn about my world.... Conversely, as I struggle to understand what I see OUT THERE, I learn about myself.... But to be clear: I don't claim any special understanding. I'm still purblind, still only half-awake.... After frustrating experience with the publisher of my first novel, I've published on my own, beginning with e-books, with plans to move into print and audio. Even video.... Along with a second novel, I've now published eight books of poetry. Each poetry book focuses on a theme. For instance, the collection GLORIOUS TEDIOUS TRANSFORMATION is about the slow difficult wonderful process of change.... In that book, as with all my work, I try to be accessible to a general audience, while also striving to achieve a certain literary quality.
This entry was posted in cartoon, dreaming, dreams, Jung, psychology, self-help, symbolism, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

