get it in gear

car-cane-541w-bb-november-11-2016d

Where I live, you need a car….

So this dream was nearly a nightmare:

I turn the key to start my car, but nothing happens.  It’s dead.

Dreams often show us such problems—and without presenting the solution.  That’s for us to discover in our waking hours…

However, in this case, something unusual happened.  The answer to the problem came in a second dream, a couple of hours later…

I realize that the gear shift for my car isn’t quite in “park”.  That’s why it won’t start!  I just need to move the automatic shift a bit.

Once again, my dream world throws a surprise at me.  Nonetheless, this question remains:

How do I apply that information to my waking life?

The car is me.  So I’m trying to start myself.  But I can’t because I’m not aligned.  I’m not in “park”.  I’m not engaged—I’m not fully engaged with the present moment.

It’s a paradox: I must park myself, my thoughts, before I can start.

That feels right…so now I’m working to accomplish the task.  It seemed so easy in the dream.  But maybe I’m making it harder than it needs to be.  In any case, I shouldn’t be discouraged.  After all, the dream tells me: a major overhaul is not required.

© 2016, Michael R. Patton
my poetry spoken

About Michael Patton

I am a poet, novelist, essayist, cartoonist, graphic artist, peace miller, new mythologist, and fledgling world citizen.... I grew up in Northwest Arkansas and have lived and worked all over the United States.... I'm self-taught, for the most part--which is like searching for the right door in the dark. It's an on-going process.... I don't want to write MY story, I want OUR story, so that's what I'm studying: the human story: past, present, future, in its many aspects--including the spiritual. I'm proceeding at a slow crawl.... I don't see the inner world and outer world as separate. By learning about myself, I learn about others, I learn about my world.... Conversely, as I struggle to understand what I see OUT THERE, I learn about myself.... But to be clear: I don't claim any special understanding. I'm still purblind, still only half-awake.... After frustrating experience with the publisher of my first novel, I've published on my own, beginning with e-books, with plans to move into print and audio. Even video.... Along with a second novel, I've now published eight books of poetry. Each poetry book focuses on a theme. For instance, the collection GLORIOUS TEDIOUS TRANSFORMATION is about the slow difficult wonderful process of change.... In that book, as with all my work, I try to be accessible to a general audience, while also striving to achieve a certain literary quality.
This entry was posted in cartoon, dreaming, dreams, Jung, psychology, self-help, symbolism, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

