I Can’t See if I’m Blind


 

I felt so disappointed when I woke from this dream…

In the dream…

I’m driving down a dark city street at night.

I switch lanes, though I can’t be certain if the other lane is clear.

Then, a short distance later, I make a left turn, hoping another car isn’t coming from the opposite direction.

At this point, I coast to the side of the road.  I want to work out this problem with my vision before I go any farther.

So, according to this dream…

…I’m in the dark…I can’t see clearly…I don’t feel competent in guiding myself…I’m making choices I’m not sure of…

…and though no accidents have occurred, that’s partially due to luck.

Not a very encouraging picture.

However, after I thought about this dream, I realized that I had done something positive—I’d stopped to deal with the problem.

True, my vision wasn’t clear; on the other hand, I wasn’t totally blind, not totally in the dark.  I could see other cars, I could see their headlights.

My problem was: I doubted my vision.  I thought there might be more that I wasn’t seeing.

Well, that’s always possible.  Maybe there’s nothing I can do to “foolproof” my vision.

In any case, though I may lack confidence, I’m not stuck.  In the dream, I have no intention of parking at the side of the road forever.

© 2011, Michael R. Patton
myth steps

About Michael Patton

Michael R. Patton, in his own words, “likes to make stuff”. This stuff includes novels, new fables and myths, poetry, cartoons, essays, and videos. The ideas that run through that work can be found in the titles of his books. For example: “Searching for My Best Beliefs”. Basically self-taught, he describes his slow, tedious journey of discovery as “crawling blindfolded through the labyrinth”. He has lived and worked all over the United States.
This entry was posted in artwork, dreaming, dreams, Jung, psychology, self-help, symbolism and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment